Skip to Content

Press Release

House Passes Republican Bills Honoring Congressman Young, Reducing Crime Against Native Americans, Designating Historic Trail

  • General Logo Photo

This week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed three Republican bills under suspension of the rules. House Committee on Natural Resources Ranking Member Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) issued the following statement in response:

"It's fitting that we close out our committee's work for this Congress with legislation honoring the late Congressman Don Young. Don was a friend and colleague, former chairman of this committee, one of the longest-serving members, and a tireless advocate for Alaskans, and this bill will commemorate his legacy by renaming one of the most active volcanoes in the Aleutian Islands as 'Mount Young.' We also passed legislation amending the Not Invisible Act of 2019 and a bill expanding public land access by designating a new historic trail. I was honored to speak on behalf of these bills today and thank my colleagues in both chambers of Congress for their hard work on these issues."


In total, the House passed eight Natural Resources Committee bills, including:

  • S. 5066, the Don Young Recognition Act, introduced by U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), which designates Mt. Young in the state of Alaska.
  • S. 3519, the Butterfield Overland National Historic Trail Designation Act, introduced by U.S. Sen. John Boozman (R-Ark.), which amends the National Trails System Act to designate the Butterfield Overland National Historic Trail.
  • S. 5087, introduced by U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), which amends the Not Invisible Act of 2019 to extend and provide additional support for the activities of the Department of the Interior and the Department of Justice Joint Commission on Reducing Violent Crime Against Indians.