Skip to Content

Press Release

Congressional Delegation Visits the Federated States of Micronesia to Discuss their Strong Alliance with the United States and Countering CCP Aggression in the Region

  • General Logo Photo

Recently, House Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) led a historic bipartisan congressional delegation (CODEL) to the Federated States of Micronesia. Upon departure, Westerman issued the following statement in response:

"Today we have made our commitment to our allies in the Indo-Pacific clear with our historic visit to the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM). The People's Republic of China‚Äôs (PRC's) threat to U.S. national security remains high as they seek to undo our democratic way of life and undermine our standing as leaders on the international stage. This will not be tolerated. Our visit today is another demonstration of the strength of the U.S.'s alliances in the region to deter any growth of the PRC's influence here and throughout the Indo-Pacific. I'd like to thank His Excellency President Wesley W. Simina for hosting us on this historic trip and I'm confident that the future remains bright for U.S.-FSM relations."


Recently, the CODEL traveled to the island nation of the Federated States of Micronesia to meet with top-ranking officials in the Micronesian government. The CODEL and Micronesian government officials discussed the various issues facing the nation and the strategic importance of a strong U.S.- FSM partnership in the region.

During his time as chairman, Westerman has prioritized strengthening America's presence in the Indo-Pacific region during his time as chairman with the creation of the bipartisan Indo-Pacific Task Force. The committee and the task force are conducting oversight on issues facing the U.S. Pacific territories and Freely Associated States in the Indo-Pacific region. Westerman is leading a CODEL of nine members to the region to see these issues firsthand and hear from local communities to further understand the threat of the People's Republic of China under the Chinese Communist Party.

Members joining Chairman Westerman on the CODEL:

Indo-Pacific Task Force Chair Amata Radewagen (R-American Samoa)
Indo-Pacific Task Force Co-Chair Gregorio Kilili Sablan (D-CNMI)
U.S. Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.)
U.S. Rep. Tom Tiffany (R-Wis.)
U.S. Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez (D-N.M.)
U.S. Rep. Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.)
U.S. Rep. Jim Moylan (R-Guam)
U.S. Rep. Harriet Hageman (R-Wyo.)