Skip to Content


Subcommittee on Federal Lands Legislative Hearing on H.R. 482, H.R. 496, H.R. 959, H.R. 1138, H.R. 1554, H.R. 2223

Tuesday, June 16, 2015 | 10:00 AM 1324 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515
Subcommittee on Federal Lands

Legislative Hearing on:

  • H.R. 482 (Rep. Sanford Bishop), To redesignate Ocmulgee National Monument in the State of Georgia and revise its boundary, and for other purposes. “Ocmulgee Mounds National Historical Park Boundary Revision Act of 2015”
  • Hearing Memo H.R. 482
  • H.R. 496 (Rep. Paul Cook), To establish the Alabama Hills National Scenic Area in the State of California, and for other purposes. “Alabama Hills National Scenic Area Establishment Act”
  • Hearing Memo H.R. 496
  • H.R. 959 (Rep. Bennie Thompson), To authorize the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a special resource study of the Medgar Evers House, located in Jackson, Mississippi, and for other purposes. “Medgar Evers House Study Act”
  • Hearing Memo H.R. 959
  • H.R. 1138 (Rep. Michael Simpson), To establish certain wilderness areas in central Idaho and to authorize various land conveyances involving National Forest System land and Bureau of Land Management land in central Idaho, and for other purposes. “Sawtooth National Recreation Area and Jerry Peak Wilderness Additions Act”
  • Hearing Memo H.R. 1138
  • H.R. 1554 (Rep. Scott Tipton), To require a land conveyance involving the Elkhorn Ranch and the White River National Forest in the State of Colorado, and for other purposes. “Elkhorn Ranch and White River National Forest Conveyance Act of 2015”
  • Hearing Memo H.R. 1554
  • H.R. 2223 (Rep. Doug Lamborn), To authorize, direct, expedite, and facilitate a land exchange in El Paso and Teller Counties, Colorado, and for other purposes. “Crags, Colorado Land Exchange Act of 2015” 
  • Hearing Memo H.R. 2223

Member Statements:

The Honorable Tom McClintock

Witnesses and Testimony:

Panel 1

The Honorable Sanford D. Bishop Jr. (D-GA) 
Member of Congress

The Honorable Austin Scott (R-GA)
Member of Congress 

The Honorable Michael K. Simpson (R-ID) 
Member of Congress

The Honorable Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS)
Member of Congress

Panel 2

Leslie Weldon
Deputy Chief
U.S. Forest Service
Washington, D.C. 
(Disclosure Form)

Karen E. Mouritsen
Deputy Assistant Director 
Energy, Minerals, and Realty Management – BLM 
Washington, D.C. 
(Disclosure Form)

Kevin Mazzu
Alabama Hills Stewardship Group
Bishop, California
(Disclosure Form)

Related Documents: