Skip to Content

110th Congress Hearing Archives

Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests and Public Lands Legislative Hearing on H.R. 573, H.R. 3702, H.R. 3809, H.R. 4199, H.R. 4828, and H.R. 5583

1324 Longworth House Office Building
Thursday, June 5, 2008
10:00 a.m.


  • H.R. 573 (Visckolsky), To amend the Act entitled `An Act to provide for the establishment of the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, and for other purposes' to clarify the authority of the Secretary of the Interior to accept donations of lands that are contiguous to the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, and for other purposes. "Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore Corrections Act"
  • H.R. 3702 (Rehberg), To direct the Secretary of Agriculture to convey certain land in the Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest, Montana, to Jefferson County, Montana, for use as a cemetery.
  • H.R. 3809 (Kanjorski), To amend the Delaware and Lehigh National Heritage Corridor Act of 1988 regarding the local coordinating entity of the Delaware and Lehigh National Heritage Corridor, and for other purposes.   
  • H.R. 4199 (Turner), To amend the Dayton Aviation Heritage Preservation Act of 1992 to add sites to the Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park, and for other purposes.  
  • H.R. 4828 (Ortiz), To amend the Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site Act of 1991 to expand the boundaries of the historic site, and for other purposes.  
  • H.R. 5583 (Grijalva), To withdraw the Tusayan Ranger District and Federal land managed by the Bureau of Land Management in the vicinity of Kanab Creek and in House Rock Valley from location, entry, and patent under the mining laws, and for other purposes. "Grand Canyon Watersheds Protection Act of 2008" 


Panel I

Representative Peter J. Visclosky (IN-1)

Representative Paul E. Kanjorski

Representative Michael Turner (OH-3)

Representative Charles W. Dent (PA-15)

Panel II

Katherine H. Stevenson
Assistant Director
Business Services
National Park Service

Mark Rey
Natural Resources and Environment
Department of Agriculture

Panel III 

Thomas C. Serynek
Save the Dunes Council
Gary, IN

Allen Sachse
President/Executive Director
Delaware & Lehigh National Corridor, Inc.  

Amanda Wright-Lane
Wright Family Foundation
Cincinnati, OH

Diane Garza 
Brownsville Community Foundation Board
Brownsville, TX

Panel IV

Robert Arnberger
The Coalition of National Park Service Retirees
Tucson, AZ  

Roger Clark
Grand Canyon Trust
Flagstaff, AZ

Eugene Spiering
Vice President Exploration
Quaterra Resources, Inc.