Home > newsroom > Page
Biden’s Executive Order on Climate Harms Economy, Environment

WASHINGTON, D.C., February 9, 2021 -

Today, 105 members of the House Republican Conference – including Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), Minority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.), Conference Chair Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) and House Committee on Natural Resources Ranking Member Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) – sent a letter to President Joe Biden, urging him to reverse his executive order on climate. In part, the members wrote:

“We write to express our strong opposition to the oil and gas leasing moratorium directed by your January 27, 2021 Executive Order titled, ‘Executive Order on Tackling the Climate Crisis at Home and Abroad.’ This ill-conceived policy will devastate a major sector of our economy while millions of Americans are unemployed due to the COVID-19 crisis. Additionally, this policy will handicap essential environmental restoration programs across the country by destroying a critical source of conservation funding: revenues from conventional energy production…

“Your actions to handicap energy production on federal lands will all but ensure that U.S. demand instead be met by oil and gas from countries with lesser environmental standards, and emissions and pollution associated with transporting these resources by vessel will increase. Surely an Administration so concerned with our environment has calculated the environmental impact of fulfilling our energy and mineral demand with resources from Russia, China, and Saudi Arabia.

“Mr. President, there is absolutely no reason we should not utilize our rich federal lands to help us achieve our goals. Energy production and environmental protections are not mutually exclusive. We urge you to rescind this Executive Order and work with us to support safe, sustainable, all-of-the-above energy production in the United States.”

Read the full letter here.

The full list of signatories: U.S. Reps. Robert B. Aderholt (R-Ala.), Rick Allen (R-Ga.), Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.), Jodey C. Arrington (R-Texas), Don Bacon (R-Neb.), James R. Baird (R-Ind.), Troy Balderson (R-Ohio), Cliff Bentz (R-Ore.), Jack Bergman (R-Mich.), Stephanie Bice (R-Okla.), Dan Bishop (R-N.C.), Lauren Boebert (R-Colo.), Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), Ken Buck (R-Colo.), Larry Bucshon (R-Ind.), Michael C. Burgess (R-Texas), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), Jerry Carl (R-Ala.), Earl “Buddy” Carter (R-Ga.), Steve Chabot (R-Ohio), Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.), Ben Cline (R-Va.), Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), Rick Crawford (R-Ark.), Dan Crenshaw (R-Texas), Warren Davidson (R-Ohio), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Tom Emmer (R-Minn.), Ron Estes (R-Kansas), Pat Fallon (R-Texas), Michelle Fischbach (R-Minn.), Russ Fulcher (R-Idaho), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Jenniffer González-Colón (R-Puerto Rico), Garret Graves (R-La.), Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.), Michael Guest (R-Miss.), Jim Hagedorn (R-Minn.), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Diana Harshbarger (R-Tenn.), Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.), Kevin Hern (R-Okla.), Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.), Jody Hice (R-Ga.), Clay Higgins (R-La.), French Hill (R-Ark.), Richard Hudson (R-N.C.), Ronny L. Jackson (R-Texas), Mike Johnson (R-La.), David P. Joyce (R-Ohio), Fred Keller (R-Penn.), Mike Kelly (R-Penn.), Trent Kelly (R-Miss.), David Kustoff (R-Tenn.), Doug LaMalfa (R-Calif.), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), Robert E. Latta (R-Ohio), Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.), Tracey Mann (R-Kansas), Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), Michael T. McCaul (R-Texas), Lisa McClain (R-Mich.), Tom McClintock (R-Calif.), David B. McKinley (R-W.V.), Dan Meuser (R-Penn.), Carol D. Miller (R-W.V.), John Moolenaar (R-Mich.), Alex X. Mooney (R-W.V.), Blake Moore (R-Utah), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Dan Newhouse (R-Wash.), Devin Nunes (R-Calif.), Jay Obernolte (R-Calif.), Steven M. Palazzo (R-Miss.), Gary Palmer (R-Ala.), Greg Pence (R-Ind.), Scott Perry (R-Penn.), August Pfluger (R-Texas), Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-American Samoa), Guy Reschenthaler (R-Penn.), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wash.), Mike Rogers (R-Ala.), John Rose (R-Tenn.), Matthew Rosendale (R-Mont.), David Rouzer (R-N.C.), John Rutherford (R-Fla.), Steve Scalise (R-La.), Adrian Smith (R-Neb.), Pete Stauber (R-Minn.), Chris Stewart (R-Utah), Van Taylor (R-Texas), Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-Penn.), Tom Tiffany (R-Wis.), David G. Valadao (R-Calif.), Beth Van Duyne (R-Texas), Ann Wagner (R-Mo.), Randy K. Weber (R-Texas), Daniel Webster (R-Fla.), Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio), Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.), Roger Williams (R-Texas), Robert J. Wittman (R-Va.), Steve Womack (R-Ark.) and Don Young (R-Alaska).

Contact: Committee Press Office 202-225-2761

Latest News

Westerman Announces Subcommittee Chairs

Today, House Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) announced the subcommittee chairs for the 118th Congress. Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources Chairman Pete Stau...... Read more

Westerman Announces Subcommittee Vice Chairs

Today, House Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) announced the subcommittee vice chairs for the 118th Congress. Full Committee Vice Chairman Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.) "I am p...... Read more

Westerman Announces Full Committee, Subcommittee Rosters

Today, House Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) announced the Republican committee rosters for the 118th Congress. Full Committee U.S. Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.) U.S. Re...... Read more

View All News