Chair Grijalva, Reps. Velázquez, González-Colón, Soto Release Statement on Puerto Rico Status Act

Washington, D.C. – House Natural Resources Committee Chair Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Small Business Committee Chair Nydia Velázquez (D-N.Y), Resident Commissioner Jenniffer González-Colón (R-Puerto Rico), and Rep. Darren Soto (D-Fla.) today released the following joint statement on the Puerto Rico Status Act:

“Puerto Rico’s territory status has stifled the island’s development and potential for prosperity for far too long. The people of Puerto Rico deserve a resolution to the political limbo they have struggled under for so many years. After several months of working with our colleagues in the House and receiving feedback from community members, we are proud to announce an agreement to introduce the Puerto Rico Status Act. The bill text will be available in English and Spanish this week.

“This legislation lays out a path towards decolonization for Puerto Rico by providing residents an opportunity to select from three non-territorial, fully self-governing political status options: Statehood, Independence, and Sovereignty in Free Association with the United States. This historic proposal unites stakeholders from all sides of the status debate to present a democratic process to resolve Puerto Rico’s political status that Congress shall sponsor and respect.

“We are very grateful for the expertise and attention dedicated by Majority Leader Steny Hoyer throughout this process. We look forward to introducing this legislation and bringing it to a vote in committee next week.”

Press Contact

Media Contact: Lindsay Gressard

202-225-6065 | cell: 202-740-4715