Chair Grijalva Hails Passage of Bipartisan Package of Bills, Including Legislation Led by the Late Rep. Young

Washington, D.C. – Chair Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.) today issued the following statement on the expected House passage of eleven Natural Resources Committee-passed bills, including five that were championed by the late Rep. Don Young (R-Alaska).

The bills led by Rep. Young include H.R. 6651, the Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act, which will establish a task force of fisheries scientists and Alaskan stakeholders to study, address, and prevent salmon fishery disasters in Alaska. A second bill, S. 497, which has already passed the Senate, will establish the American Fisheries Advisory Committee to manage fisheries research and development grants. And finally, H.R. 441, which was amended today to include the bill text of H.R. 442 and H.R. 443, will convey lands to the Tanana Tribal Council, the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium, and the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium in Alaska. The land conveyances are critical to expanding social services and health care for Alaska Natives in the region.

“Throughout his long tenure in the House, my late friend and colleague, Representative Young, never tired in his fierce commitment to Alaskans,” Chair Grijalva said. “The House passage of today’s bills is a testament to his legacy and a tribute to a man whose leadership and tenacious spirit will be felt in the halls of Congress for many years to come.”

The package of legislation also includes H.R. 5973, the Great Lakes Fish and Wildlife Restoration Act of 2021, led by Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.). The bill will reauthorize the Great Lakes Fish and Wildlife Restoration Act of 1990, which authorizes funding to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to combat pollution, invasive species, and habitat loss in the Great Lakes region.

The other five bills include:

  • S. 270, the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site Expansion Act, led by Sen. Christopher A. Coons (D-Del.). Rep. James E. Clyburn (D-S.C.) led the House version of the bill, which will expand the Brown v. Board of Education site and establish it as National Historic Park.
  • H.R. 2793, the Highlands Conservation Reauthorization Act of 2021, led by Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N.Y.). 
  • H.R. 3525, the Commission To Study the Potential Creation of a National Museum of Asian Pacific American History and Culture Act, led by Rep. Grace Meng (D-N.Y.).
  • H.R. 6023, the Multinational Species Conservation Funds Semipostal Stamp Reauthorization Act of 2021, led by Rep. Jim Costa (D-Calif.).
  • H.R. 6201, the National Liberty Memorial Preservation Act, led by Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-N.J.). The bill will establish a memorial to honor free and enslaved Black persons who served in the American Revolution.

All bills, excluding S. 497 were passed by voice vote this afternoon. S. 497 is expected to pass by recorded vote this evening.

Press Contact

Media Contact: Lindsay Gressard

(202) 225-6065 or (202) 740-4715 mobile