Livestreams Next Week: Confederate Monuments on Tuesday, Tribal Health and Veterans Care on Wednesday, Future of Puerto Rico Energy on Thursday

Washington, D.C. – The Natural Resources Committee is hosting three livestreamed events next week.

Tuesday, July 21

On Tuesday, July 21, Rep. Deb Haaland (D-N.M.), chair of the Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands, will lead a hearing titled Monumental Decisions: A Long Overdue Reckoning With Racist Symbols on Our Public Lands on the following bills.

  • H.R. 970 (Rep. Anthony Brown), To direct the Secretary of the Interior to develop a plan for the removal of the monument to Robert E. Lee at the Antietam National Battlefield, and for other purposes. “Robert E. Lee Statue Removal Act.”
  • H.R. 4135 (Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton), To direct the Secretary of the Interior to remove the statue to the memory and in honor of Albert Pike erected near Judiciary Square in the District of Columbia, and for other purposes.
  • H.R. 7550 (Rep. A. Donald McEachin), To direct the Secretary of the Interior, the Secretary of Defense, and the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to inventory Confederate commemorative works on certain Federal lands, and for other purposes. “Confederate Commemorative Works Inventory and Joint Resource Study Act.”

When: 10:00 a.m. Eastern time

Watch Live: https://bit.ly/2Ww0QZt (Facebook) or https://youtu.be/vy0BNDT91Ww (YouTube).


Panel I

Rep. Anthony Brown (H.R. 970)

Maryland, 4th District

Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (H.R. 4135)

District of Columbia, At Large

Rep. A. Donald McEachin (H.R. 7550)

Virginia, 4th District

Panel II

Reverend Robert W. Lee, IV (H.R. 970)

Descendent, Robert E. Lee

The Hon. Mitch Landrieu (H.R. 970)

Founder, E Pluribus Unum

Former Mayor, City of New Orleans

Frank Smith (H.R. 4135)


African American Civil War Museum

Christy Coleman (H.R. 7550)

Public Historian

Joseph Loconte (All Bills)

Director, B. Kenneth Simon Center for American Studies

The Heritage Foundation


Wednesday, July 22

On Wednesday, July 22, Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-Ariz.), chair of the Subcommittee for Indigenous Peoples of the United States, will lead a hearing on the following bills.

  • H.R. 958 (Rep. Tom O’Halleran), To protect Native children and promote public safety in Indian country. “Native Youth and Tribal Officer Protection Act.”
  • H.R. 6237 (Rep. Ruben Gallego), To amend the Indian Health Care Improvement Act to clarify the requirement of the Department of Veterans Affairs and the Department of Defense to reimburse the Indian Health Service for certain health care services. “PRC for Native Veterans Act.”
  • H.R. 6535 (Rep. Ruben Gallego), To deem an urban Indian organization and employees thereof to be a part of the Public Health Service for the purposes of certain claims for personal injury, and for other purposes. “Coverage for Urban Indian Health Providers Act.”
  • H.R. 7119 (Rep. Don Young), To convey land in Anchorage, Alaska, to the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, and for other purposes. “Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium Land Transfer Act of 2020.”

When: 2:00 p.m. Eastern time

Watch Live: https://bit.ly/2OBNlmx (Facebook) or https://youtu.be/QFkVPL4d11Y (YouTube)


Jason O’Neal (H.R. 958)

Assistant Director, Bureau of Indian Affairs – Office of Justice Services

U.S. Department of the Interior

Rear Adm. Michael D. Weahkee (H.R. 6237, H.R. 6535, H.R. 7119)

Director, Indian Health Service

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Panel II

Alejandro Benally (H.R. 958)

Police Chief

San Carlos Apache Tribe

Hon. William Smith (H.R. 6237)

Acting Chairman

National Indian Health Board

Robyn Sunday-Allen (H.R. 6535)

Vice President

National Council of Urban Indian Health

Andy Teuber (H.R. 7119)

Chairman and President

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium


Thursday, July 23

On Thursday, July 23, Chair Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.) will lead a hearing titled Transformation of the Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority (PREPA). The hearing will focus on the future of Puerto Rico’s energy supply and the fate of PREPA itself in light of its ongoing financial struggles.

When: 3:30 p.m. Eastern time

Watch Live: https://bit.ly/2WqOtOg (Facebook) or https://youtu.be/P33mHT_mHT0 (YouTube).


José Ortíz

Executive Director

Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority

Edison Avilés


Puerto Rico Energy Bureau

Ruth Santiago


Queremos Sol Coalition

Ángel Figueroa Jaramillo


Electrical Industry and Irrigation Workers Union

Josen Rossi


Puerto Rico Institute for Competitiveness and Sustainable Economy

Fermín Fontanés

Executive Director

Puerto Rico Public-Private Partnerships Authority

Press Contact

Media Contact: Adam Sarvana

(202) 225-6065 or (202) 578-6626 mobile