Subcommittee Hearing: Subcommittee for Indigenous Peoples of the United States Legislative Hearing

Subcommittee for Indigenous Peoples of the United States Date: Tuesday, July 16, 2019 Time: 02:00 PM Location: Longworth House Office Building 1334 Presiding: The Hon. Ruben Gallego

On Tuesday, July 16, 2019, at 2:00 P.M. in room 1334 Longworth House Office Building, the Subcommittee for Indigenous Peoples of the United States will hold a legislative hearing on the following bills:

  • H.R. 2414 (Rep. Grijalva), To amend the Morris K. Udall and Stewart L. Udall Foundation Act.
  • H.R. 2031 (Rep. Haaland), To amend the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act to provide further self-governance by Indian Tribes, and for other purposes. “PROGRESS for Indian Tribes Act”
  • H.R. 895 (Rep. Johnson), to allow tribal grant schools to participate in the Federal Employee Health Benefits program. “Tribal School Federal Insurance Parity Act”
  • H.R. 396 (Rep. Mullin), to provide for the equitable settlement of certain Indian land disputes regarding land in Illinois, and for other purposes.

Witness List

Panel I

Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva (H.R. 2414)

Arizona, 3rd District

Rep. Debra Haaland (H.R. 2031)

New Mexico, 1st District

Rep. Dusty Johnson (H.R. 895)

South Dakota, At-Large

Panel II

Mr. Darryl LaCounte (All Bills) (testimony)

Director of the Bureau of Indian Affairs

U.S. Department of the Interior

 Mr. Eric D. Eberhard (H.R. 2414) (testimony)

Chair of the Board of Trustees

The Morris K. and Stewart L. Udall


The Hon. W. Ron Allen (H.R. 2031) (testimony)

Chairman of the Board

The Self-Governance Communication & Education Tribal Consortium

Ms. Cecelia Firethunder (H.R. 895) (testimony)


The Oglala Lakota Nation Education Coalition

The Hon. Douglas G. Lankford (H.R. 396) (testimony)


The Miami Tribe of Oklahoma