U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

CHAIRMAN DOC HASTINGS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Thursday, December 20, 2012 PERMALINK CONTACT: <u>Spencer Pederson</u>, <u>Crystal Feldman</u>, or <u>Jill Strait</u> 202-226-9019

Hastings Announces Natural Resources Subcommittee Chairmen

Establishes new Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulation

WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Natural Resources Committee Chairman Doc Hastings (WA-04) today named Subcommittee Chairmen for the 113th Congress and also announced the establishment of a new Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulation.

The Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulation will have jurisdiction over matters related to the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and all public lands including the National Park System, U.S. Forests, Bureau of Land Management lands and national monuments. The Natural Resources Committee has primary jurisdiction over NEPA in the House of Representatives and oversight and legislative efforts regarding NEPA were previously handled at the Full Committee. The establishment of this Subcommittee will allow this authority to be exercised in a more focused manner.

"The creation of this new Subcommittee builds on the reforms started at the beginning of this Congress when we established the Indian and Alaska Native Affairs Subcommittee – another issue that was previously handled at the Full Committee," **said Chairman Hastings.** "Moving jurisdiction of NEPA to a specific Subcommittee will allow us to better review and address how this law is being implemented and the impacts its bureaucratic red-tape has on jobs, our economy and access to public lands and resources.

"These Subcommittee Chairmen represent a dedicated and talented group of individuals with expertise and knowledge of these issues and will continue working hard to advance a natural resources agenda that creates jobs and strengthens our economy."

Natural Resources Subcommittee Chairmen for the 113th Congress (listed in alphabetical order by subcommittee):

Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

Chairman: Doug Lamborn (CO-05)

Subcommittee on Fisheries, Wildlife, Oceans and Insular Affairs

Chairman: John Fleming (LA-04)

Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs

Chairman: Don Young (AK-at large)

Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulation

Chairman: Rob Bishop (UT-01)

Subcommittee on Water and Power

Chairman: Tom McClintock (CA-04)

###

http://naturalresources.house.gov Facebook | YouTube | Twitter