ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

Senate District N Anchorage Hillside, Turnagain Arm, Cooper Landing, Sterling, Nikiski, Moose Pass, Bear Creek, Seward



State Capitol, Room 427 Juneau AK 99801-1182 907-465-4843 Fax: 907-465-3871 800-892-4843

Senator Cathy Giessel

July 25, 2013

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi House Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Boehner and Representative Pelosi:

I am writing to express support of H.R. 2728, the "Protecting States' Rights to Promote American Energy Security Act," and encourage all Members of the House of Representatives to support this important bill.

Alaska has effectively regulated the oil and gas industry in our state. Our land, wildlife and marine resources have been protected over the decades of statehood. In fact, many species have experienced increases in population after oil, gas and mining resource development.

The Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission has established regulations that ensure that necessary precautions are taken to safely develop energy while at the same time protect the environment. The Alaska Legislature and state department regulators are committed to protecting our environment in addition to developing our natural resources to provide needed economic growth and job creation for our citizens. The potential for delaying natural resource development would have a serious negative impact on Alaska in terms of reduced employment, economic growth and federal mineral revenues.

H.R. 2728 allows those regulators who know the community best to be the one's leading oversight of those communities. It would eliminate the potential for duplicative regulations whose only goal would seem to be to delay the production of natural resources on public lands. Existing state regulations are already in place and as technology improves, development should not be hindered by extended regulatory delays brought on by the federal government.

Sincerely,

tiesel Senator Cathy Giessel

Rep. Doc Hastings (R, WA 4), Chairman, House Natural Resources Committee Rep. Peter DeFazio (D, OR 4), Ranking Member, House Natural Resources Committee Rep. Doug Lamborn (R, CO 5), Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Rush Holt (D, NJ 12), Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals

Sen.Cathy.Giessel@akleg.gov

Rep. Bill Flores (R, TX 14), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Louie Gohmert (R, TX 1), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Rob Bishop (R, UT 1), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Rob Wittman (R, VA 1), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Paul C. Broun (R, GA 10), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. John Fleming (R, LA 4), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Glenn Thompson (R, PA 5), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R, WY), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Dan Benishek (R, MI 1), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Jeff Duncan (R, SC 3), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Paul Gosar (R, AZ 4), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Mark Amodei (R, NV 2), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Chris Stewart (R, UT 2), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Steve Daines (R, MT), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Kevin Cramer (R, ND), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Steven Horsford (D, NV 4), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Matthew Cartwright (D, PA 17), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Jim Costa (D, CA 20), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Niki Tsongas (D, MA 3), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Jared Huffman (D, CA 2), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D, CA 47), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Tony Cardenas (D, CA 29), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva (D, AZ 7), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D, HI 1), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals Rep. Joe Garcia (D, FL 26), Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Minerals