COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES SUBCOMMITTEE ON INDIAN AND ALASKA NATIVE AFFAIRS LEGISLATIVE HEARING

1324 Longworth House Office Building May 16, 2013 2:00 p.m.

AGENDA

- **HR 623 (Young of AK),** To provide for the conveyance of certain property located in Anchorage, Alaska, from the United States to the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium. "Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium Land Transfer Act"
- **HR 740 (Young of AK),** To provide for the settlement of certain claims under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, and for other purposes. "Southeast Alaska Native Land Entitlement Finalization and Jobs Protection Act"
- **HR 841 (Schrader),** To amend the Grand Ronde Reservation Act to make technical corrections, and for other purposes.
- **HR 931 (Schrader),** To provide for the addition of certain real property to the reservation of the Siletz Tribe in the State of Oregon.
- **HR 1306 (Young of AK),** To provide for the partial settlement of certain claims under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act. "Southeast Alaska Native Land Conveyance Act"
- **HR 1410 (Franks),** To prohibit gaming activities on certain Indian lands in Arizona until the expiration of certain gaming compacts. "Keep the Promise Act of 2013"

WITNESSES

PANEL I

Mr. Michael Black (H.R. 841, H.R. 931, and H.R. 1410)
Director
Bureau of Indian Affairs
U.S. Department of the Interior

Mr. Robert McSwain (H.R. 623)

Deputy Director for Management Operations Department of Health and Human Services

Mr. Jim Peña (H.R. 740 and H.R. 1306) Associate Deputy Chief, National Forest System U.S. Forest Service Department of Agriculture

PANEL II

Mr. Andy Teuber (H.R. 623)

Board Chair and President Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Mr. Reyn Leno (H.R. 841)

Tribal Council Chair
The Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde

Ms. Delores Pigsley (H.R. 931)

Tribal Chairman Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon

Mr. Bryon Mallott (H.R. 740 & H.R. 1306) Member, Board of Directors Sealaska Corporation

> Accompanied by: Jaeleen Kookesh Araujo General Counsel of Sealaska

PANEL III

Ms. Diane Enos (H.R.1410)

President
Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community

Mr. Ned Norris, Jr. (H.R.1410) Chairman

Tohono O'odham Nation

Mr. Jimmie Rosenbruch (H.R. 740)